Wednesday, January 9, 2008

American Library Association's Youth Media Awards - Featuring the First-ever Odyssey Award!

Tomorrow is the day I take off for Philadelphia & the ALA conference where the Best Committee Ever will meet to decide the winner of the first Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production. Here's how you can share in the excitement:

The 2008 award winners will be announced Monday, January 14, starting at 7:45 a.m. EST. A live Webcast of the award announcements will be available on a first-come, fist-served basis; visit for details.

Youth Media Awards results available in real time on your cell phone! Unable to attend the 2008 ALA Youth Media Awards or sit in on the live Webcast Monday, Jan. 14th? Get award winners sent directly to your cell phone by text message - as it happens - for free, beginning at 7:45 a.m. EST.

Text the word "ALA 5" to 32075 in the U.S. and Canada to receive notification of the winners of the following five awards, one text message per award. You will receive 5 text messages for this subscription, winners only :
Newbery Medal
Caldecott Medal
Coretta Scott King Awards
Michael L. Printz Award
Pura Belpré Award

For complete results, text the word "ALA 13" to 32075 in the U.S. and Canada to receive notification of the winners of all 13 Youth Media Awards (winners only), including the five previously mentioned and the following, one text message per award:
Alex Awards
Margaret A. Edwards Award
Odyssey Award
Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award
Andrew Carnegie Medal
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Schneider Family Book Award
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Results will be limited to the winners. To review the full list of honorable and notable mentions, visit awards press release will be posted online by 10 a.m. EST at

Look for me in the press conference crowd!

No comments: